Sync, Change & Work With Teams Files On Your Computer

Summary

You can sync your Microsoft Teams files to a folder on your computer. This lets you work directly in File Explorer (PC) or Finder (Mac) and access files even when you're offline. And when you go back online, any changes made to those files will sync automatically. You can also change your sync settings. There are a few things to be aware of when working with files. 

Note: Syncing your Teams Files with your PC or Mac mimics the functionality of having access to your Teams files without having to go directly into the Teams app.

Set up syncing

  1. Launch Microsoft Teams using the Desktop Application or Web-Based platform.

  2. Navigate to the General Channel and select the Files Tab. 

  3. Select Documents or navigate to the subfolder you want to sync.

  4. Select Sync. (You only need to do this once on a computer to set up syncing on that computer. After you set up syncing, the files sync automatically.)

Screenshot showing Sync button on a Teams library.

  1. If your browser requests permission to use "Microsoft OneDrive," confirm that this is okay.

Note: The files then sync to a folder on your PC that has the name of your organization (for example, %userprofile%\Loyola University MD). This folder is automatically added to the left pane in File Explorer. You can’t select to sync to a different location. 

Screenshot of Loyola University Synced Files in File Explorer (PC)

  1. To sync the files on another computer, go to that computer, and follow these steps again.

Working with Files

Once a folder is synced, you no longer have to go into Teams. You can create, manage and delete files directly from within the File Explorer (PC) or Finder (Mac).

Warning: If you delete a file or folder that is currently synced with your computer (using the sync application), it will remove the file or folder from both File Explorer/Finder and Teams.

The file(s) or folder(s) will go to the recycle bin for 93 days. For instructions on restoring a delete file, see Delete and Recover Files in Teams. 

If you no longer want to sync a folder to your computer, please follow the instructions above in Change Sync Settings.  

Change Sync Settings

To change the folders that sync for a site, or to stop syncing all files on a site, follow these steps:

  1. Select the blue OneDrive cloud icon in the Windows taskbar notification area.

    OneDrive SyncClient with blue cloud and white cloud icons

    (You may need to select the Show hidden icons arrow The Show hidden icons button. next to the notification area for the OneDrive icon to appear. If the icon doesn't appear in the notification area, OneDrive might not be running. Select Start, enter OneDrive in the search box, and then select OneDrive in the search results.)

    Windows system tray with arrow indicating hidden icons

  2. Select OneDrive Help and Settings icon Help & Settings > Settings.

    Screenshot of getting to OneDrive Settings

  3. To see a list of all your syncing sites, select the Account tab.

    Screenshot of account settings in the OneDrive sync client.
  4. To change the folders that you're syncing, select Choose folders for that library, and then select the folders that you want to sync. To stop syncing a site, select Stop sync next to the site. (Copies of the files remain on your computer. You can delete them if you want.)

Get Help

If you need additional assistance with Microsoft Teams, please review related articles, or submit a ticket to the Help Center.

Submit a Ticket

Loyola Microsoft Teams Articles

Microsoft Team Support

Details

Article ID: 120123
Created
Tue 11/10/20 12:59 PM
Modified
Tue 11/10/20 3:41 PM