Modifying Access Permissions in OneDrive

The setting "Anyone with a link can edit" is the least restrictive setting option for sharing content in OneDrive, and can unfortunately be viewed or edited by anyone who has the link. If you have selected this option in the past, the links will stop working as of 9/23/2019.

How do I check OneDrive access permissions?

  1. Navigate to office.loyola.edu and log in with your Loyola username and password.
  2. Locate the OneDrive icon in the applications list and select.
    office 365 application icons
  3. On the left hand menu, locate the option "Shared" and select.
    OneDrive menu options
  4. Towards the top of the page, there are two options "Shared with me" and "Shared by me", make sure you are in the "Shared by me" list.
    Shared by me
  5. Mouse over a file name and locate the three dots to the right of the file name and click on them, a menu will appear, select "manage access".
    show actions menu
  6. A menu option will appear on the right side of the screen. Notice the window that indicates if a link was generated to share the file. If the option underneath the link reads "anyone with link can edit" this link will break on 9/23/2019. 
    manage access settings
  7. If it is also shared with specific users listed under the "Direct Access" section, and you would like for those users to continue to access the file, you can remove just the "Anyone with the link" access by clicking the three dots to the right of the link and then click the X next to the link to remove the access.
    manage access link

Details

Article ID: 84898
Created
Wed 8/14/19 1:26 PM
Modified
Mon 10/14/19 8:25 AM