Advanced Settings in Microsoft Teams

When you create your first Team, there are a few settings that you can choose at that time, but there are more options available once the Team is set up. These settings should be taken into consideration when you begin planning your use of the Team. They are particularly important if you are going to have a large number of members, and if the Team will be open to individuals to add themselves.

This article will be updated with more details over the coming weeks. If you have questions about a particular setting that isn't identified here, feel free to contact the Technology Services Help Center.

Accessing Teams Settings

Once your Team is created, and you have an understanding of what your goals are for your Team, it is time to look at your setting options.

  1. Navigate to your Team. Locate the ellipsis action menu to the right of your Team name in the left navigation menu and click on the ellipsis. The first option is Manage Team, select it.
    Screenshot of Microsoft Teams Instructions on how to manage a Team. More Options>Manage Team.
  2. The Manage Team screen starts with the Members tab, and offers you others as well, including Pending Requests, Channels, Settings, Analytics and Apps. Below we will go into specifics about Channels, Settings and Analytics.
    Screenshot of Microsoft Teams Manage Teams showing individual tabs to select.

Just a note about the Pending Requests tab, you can choose to allow people to request access to your Team, the Pending Requests tab is where you would approve that access. In order for this to work, you have to create your overall Team with the "Public" setting. This will make your team show up on the Teams landing page, and folks can request access to join from there. If you have a need to create a Public Team, and have not used Teams much, please reach out to the Help Desk to submit a request for consultation with one of our Business Analysts. There are definitely use cases for this, but if you have not managed a Team before we want to make sure you get the settings right so that you don't accidentally share something publicly. We will be working on a Knowledge Base article for this need in the coming weeks, but for now, we can start with a conversation.

Manage Team - Channels Tab

The settings under Channels allows you to control what notifications go out for your Team. It's good to keep in mind your overall goal for the Team and consider notification fatigue (similar to email fatigue!) when choosing the settings.

  1. Click on the Channels Tab from the Manage Team screen.
  2. On the main screen you will see a list of your Channels with two check boxes next to them. You can choose to set a channel to not show for members by unchecking the box. This will put the Channel behind a link in the user's Channels menu for the Team. This is a good option for a Channel that may not need to be actively utilized any longer, but is needed for archive purposes.
    Screenshot of Microsoft Teams Manage Teams Channels Tab.
    1. If you locate the ellipsis action menu to the far right of your Channel name and click, you will see an option for Channel Notifications. You can manage notifications for the entire Team as well as for the individual Channel from here.
      Screenshot of Microsoft Teams Channel Notification Settings > All New Posts OptionsScreenshot of Microsoft Teams Channel Notification Settings > Channel Mention Options
  3. On the main Channels Tab screen you will also see a menu for Deleted Channels. If you accidentally deleted a Channel, or you need to restore a deleted channel for some reason, this would be place to do it.
    Screenshot of Microsoft Teams Manage Teams Channels Tab highlighting options for "Active" & "Deleted" Channels collapse button.

Manage Teams - Settings Tab

The Settings Tab is your One Stop Shop for updating various settings. For some items you can do these updates in other areas of the Team, but if you are looking at overall access, or wanting to limit members ability to add apps, or new Channels, this is where you need to be.

  1. Navigate to the Settings tab under the Manage Teams screen and click on the Member Permissions section.
  2. By default the permissions are set to the least restrictive option to empower more engagement within a Team. There are times though, when restricting member's abilities in a Team makes sense. Below is a list of the options you can restrict, followed by a brief explanation of each:
    Screenshot of Microsoft Teams Manage Teams Settings tab highlighting the ability to add a team picture and edit member permissions.
    1. Allows members to manage and create new Channels. If this is a large group, this could end up causing confusion on where to go for specific content.
    2. Members would have the ability to delete and restore Channels. This should be limited to only Owners.
    3. Though we will have a limited number of apps by default, this should be considered based on your use case. If you have a Team member that is more adventurous with tinkering with technology, leaving the option on could give them the freedom to find ways to improve the overall Teams experience.
    4. This option will not be available after 9/23, and this image will be updated.
    5. Similar to c, this would be a consideration based on your use of the Team.
    6. This option will not be available after 9/23, and this image will be updated.
    7. If a user can delete a message you may lose history on a project. This should be considered in the use of the Team by the owners.
    8. Editing a message is a less risky way to empower Team Members to be more comfortable with participating. For example, if they make a spelling or grammar error they can go back and fix it.
  3. It is worth noting that you can update Member's ability to use @ mentions based on the Team or Channel names. This is a more global notification, and is helpful in larger groups, but considerations around notification fatigue should be considered as well.
    Screenshot of Microsoft Teams Manage Teams Settings tab highlighting the ability to change @mentions settings.
  4. The Fun Stuff menu shows you how to turn on and off emojis, and gifs. I point it out only because there may be situations where it's not seen as useful or professional and an Owner may want to disable the option. I will note that the emojis are a great way to show that a Member has reviewed content if you ask your Members to "thumbs up" items they have reviewed and agreed with.
    Screenshot of Microsoft Teams Manage Teams Settings tab highlighting the ability to turn on or off "fun stuff" features such as emojis, gifs, stickers etc.

Details

Article ID: 87401
Created
Fri 9/20/19 10:01 AM
Modified
Thu 12/19/19 2:01 PM