OneDrive and Microsoft Teams Recycle Bin

What Happens When I Delete a File from OneDrive or Teams? 

In order to allow users the ability to restore files themselves, Microsoft built a Recycle Bin into your OneDrive and Teams account. Files that are deleted from your OneDrive or Teams reside here for 93 days, and can be restored by the user at any point during that 93 day period. You can choose to empty your Recycle Bin at any point as well. 

When you empty your Recycle Bin, files move into what is called the second stage Recycle Bin. They stay here for the remainder of the 93 day retention, or until a user permanently deletes the file. 

If you scroll to the bottom of your Recycle Bin, you will see the link below:

Click the link "Second-stage recycle bin", and you will be taken to a list of files that have been moved from your First-stage Recycle Bin. Locate the file that you wish to restore, or permanently delete, and click the radio button to the left of the file, and you will be given a "delete" or "restore" button. 

When you choose Restore, it restores the file back to the original folder it was deleted from. If you can't remember where that was, simply search for the file in the search field at the top of OneDrive or Teams. 

Get Help

If you need additional assistance with Microsoft OneDrive for Business or Microsoft Teams, please review related articles, or submit a ticket to the Help Center.

Submit a Ticket  

Loyola Microsoft OneDrive for Business Articles

Microsoft OneDrive Support

8.3.4

Details

Article ID: 89229
Created
Mon 10/14/19 8:16 AM
Modified
Wed 10/28/20 11:08 AM