Office 365 Training Course Activity Guide -- OneDrive for Business

This Activity Guide is a partner document to use during and after the face-to-face OneDrive and Teams training courses. It is split into three parts:

Office 365 Training Course Activity Guide - Overview
Office 365 Training Course Activity Guide - OneDrive for Business (current document)
Office 365 Training Course Activity Guide - Microsoft Teams


Office 365 Training Course Activity Guide - OneDrive for Business

Learning Objectives:

  • Access OneDrive for Business
  • Create a new file
  • Share a file
  • Upload a file into OneDrive for Business
  • View file version history

What is OneDrive for Business

OneDrive for Business is a storage platform that is provided to all Loyola faculty, staff, employees and students. Each account is allotted 1 terabyte of storage (the equivalent of 1,000 gigabytes).

What to Expect from this Training

  • In the following activities we will do hands on work in the Office 365 online applications.
  • Because OneDrive is a cross platform product, there are applications that can be downloaded. You will be provided with examples of these capabilities, but will not be given hands on activity.
  • Where appropriate this activity guide will have links to Knowledge Base articles for information on items that we were unable to work directly with in the training

Activity 1 - Creating a New File

For Office based files, you can create them directly within the web version of OneDrive. If you have not done so already, navigate to OneDrive by going to office.loyola.edu and clicking on the OneDrive icon.

  1. Select "New" and choose Word document. You will be taken to a blank Word document that will open in the web browser.
    new file menu button
  2. Click on the word "Document" and start typing the new name. Rename it to your last name + training, e.g. mcmahontraining. When you have finished, press enter
    document name
  3. Add some information into your document, a simple sentence about your favorite dessert.
    Note: there is no Save button in the web version of Office applications. It auto saves, and you can see the save status at the top of your document.
  4. When you are ready to go back to where your file is saved, follow the bread crumbs back. Locate your name next to the file name, there may also be a folder there as well. You can click on either the folder name or your name to go back.
    bread crumb screenshot
There is no Save button in the web version of Office applications. It auto saves, and you can see the Save status at the top of your document.

Activity 2 -- Uploading an Existing File

  1. From the OneDrive Online interface, navigate to the location where you wish to upload the file.
  2. Select  "Upload".
    upload button
  3. Browse to the file in the file browser, select it and click "open".
You can also drag and drop directly from Mac Finder, or File Explorer into the OneDrive Online interface.
There is also a upload "Folder" option in the Upload menu. This will add a full folder of content into OneDrive.

For more options on adding files to your OneDrive via File Explorer, check out the Knowledge Base article on setting up the Microsoft Sync application. When this is done, your OneDrive will appear as a drive in your File Explorer/Mac Finder.


Activity 3 -- Sharing a File

  1. From OneDrive Online, locate the document that you just created. Remember to follow the bread crumbs if it's no longer on your screen.
  2. Once you have located the file, click the button to the right of the file. This selects the file.
  3. Locate the "Share" button at the top of the screen, and click on it.
  4. The screen that will appear is pictured below. Draft a message, and enter the email address for the person sitting next to you. But don't send just yet!
    link options
  5. There are a lot of setting options available that you should be mindful of, and should get in the habit of checking before you share a file. Click where it says "people you specify can edit". Read through the different options and let me know if you have any questions about the permission options.  Adjust one or both of the settings under "other settings".
    sharing options
  6. Once you have adjusted your settings as you would like, select "send".

Take a moment to see what your partners access looks like.


Activity 4 -- Real Time Collaboration

Now that you have shared a file with the person next to you, you can now collaborate on the file.

  1. There are several ways to locate the file that was just shared with you. The easiest is to go to the "Shared" folder in OneDrive online.
    shared files
  2. Once you have located the file, open it up.
  3. Make some edits to the file directly.
  4. Locate the Comments button and click on it. Comments allow for you to have a discussion while you collaborate on the file.
    comments button
  5. Add a comment, use the @ symbol to tag your partner in the comment to see what happens.

Activity 5 -- Version History & Restores of Previous Versions

With online version history, you can see and restore older versions of all your files in your OneDrive. Version history works with all file types, including PDFs, CAD files, photos, and videos.

  1. Locate the file that you created earlier in the training. Lets revert it back to a previous version before edits were made.
  2. To the right of the file name is a kebab menu, click on it.
  3. A menu will pop up. Select Version History.
  4. The right hand side of the screen will change to a list of versions of the document.
  5. You can click on the version number, which will open up the file. You can also click on the kebab menu to do a restore directly.

One last thing about file restores and Shared Libraries...

Your Teams files (we will learn more about those in the Teams portion of the training) will also appear in your OneDrive under the header "Shared Libraries". Version history is available for these files as well and it's the only way to see version history for Teams files.

Doing a restore will create a new version of the file that is identical to the restored version number chosen.
Did you know if you accidentally delete something, it will stay in your OneDrive recycle bin for 92 days before being removed?